The Mary Russell Series 8-Book Bundle

By Laurie R. King

In bold to re-imagine the lifetime of Arthur Conan Doyle’s iconic Sherlock Holmes, Laurie R. King’s big apple instances bestselling secret series—now celebrating its 20th anniversary!—succeeds at the power of its personal now-beloved protagonist: Mary Russell, the younger American who actually stumbles upon the nice retired detective-turned-beekeeper. With the fantastic mixture of suspense, interval element, and enchanting speed that's King’s hallmark, those acclaimed novels persist with Russell as she rises out of her mentor’s shadow to shape a long-running partnership with the regularly inscrutable and charismatic Holmes.

Traversing such unique locales as British-occupied Palestine, the Moroccan underworld, and the wilds of India amidst the turmoil of the early 20th century, this handy book package deal compiles 8 in their such a lot exciting adventures:

O JERUSALEM
JUSTICE HALL
THE GAME
LOCKED ROOMS
THE LANGUAGE OF BEES
THE GOD OF THE HIVE
PIRATE KING
GARMENT OF SHADOWS

Also comprises the book brief tale “Beekeeping for Beginners” and an particular preview of the subsequent Mary Russell secret from Laurie R. King, Dreaming Spies!

Show description

The First Quarry (Hard Case Crime Novels)

By Max Allan Collins

Large guy ON CAMPUS

Crime fiction readers understand Quarry, the ruthless killer-for-hire, from Max Allan Collins’ acclaimed novels – such a lot lately THE final QUARRY, which advised the tale of the assassin’s ultimate task (and used to be the root for the function movie The final Lullaby).

yet the place did Quarry's tale start?  For first time ever, the best-selling writer of ROAD TO PERDITION takes us again to the start, revealing the never-before-told tale of Quarry’s first activity: infiltrating a school campus and putting off a professor whose affair with one among his appealing, younger scholars is the least of his sins…

Show description

The Silver Mistress (Modesty Blaise, Book 7)

By Peter O'Donnell

This 7th novel within the Modesty Blaise sequence won't fail to thrill any of Modesty's innumerable enthusiasts. Modesty and her companion, Willie Garvin, are scorching at the path of a captured British Intelligence agent, but if they confront the agent's weird and wonderful captors-a felony rich person, a genteel girl murderer, inscrutable chinese language killers, and the invincibe Mr. Sexton, the world's greatest combatant-even Modesty starts off to doubt that she will achieve this operation. Her activity is extra complex while Willie's female friend and a tender pilot are also taken hostage. Their scenario turns out hopeless till the Silver Mistress seems, bringing this exciting saga to an unbelievable climax.

Show description

Leaving Everything Most Loved (Maisie Dobbs)

By Jacqueline Winspear

In Leaving every thing such a lot Loved through New York Times bestselling writer Jacqueline Winspear, Maisie Dobbs investigates the homicide of Indian immigrants in London.
 
The 12 months is 1933. Maisie Dobbs is contacted by way of an Indian gentleman who has come to England within the hopes of checking out who killed his sister months in the past. Scotland backyard did not make any arrest within the case, and there's cause to think they did not behavior an intensive research. The case turns into much more not easy whilst one other Indian lady is murdered simply hours earlier than a scheduled interview. in the meantime, unfinished company from a prior case turns into a distraction, as does a brand new improvement in Maisie's own life.
 
Bringing an important bankruptcy within the lifestyles and instances of Maisie Dobbs to an in depth, Leaving every little thing so much Loved marks a pivotal second during this notable secret series.

Show description

The Mysterious Mr. Quin: A Harley Quin Collection (Harley Quin Mysteries)

By Agatha Christie

The Queen of puzzle has come to Harper Collins! Agatha Christie, the said mistress of suspense—creator of indomitable sleuth pass over Marple, meticulous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot, and such a lot of different unforgettable characters—brings her complete oeuvre of creative whodunits, locked room mysteries, and confusing puzzles to William Morrow Paperbacks. The inimitable Christie intrigues, surprises, and delights once more with The Mysterious Mr. Quin—a riveting number of brief tales situated round the enigmatic Harley Quin, whose unpredictable comings and goings tend to be an excellent indication that anything is set to happen…and hardly ever for the best.

Show description

Blood on the Sand

By Pauline Rowson

Inspector Andy Horton's vacation peace is shattered whilst stepping out throughout an deserted golfing direction at the Isle of Wight on a chilly, gray January morning, he reveals himself dealing with a distraught younger girl with a gun in her hand, leaning over a corpse in a single of the discarded bunkers. whilst she professes to be the useless man's sister and psychic, Horton's outdated adversary, DCI Birch, is confident she is a mentally disturbed killer, yet Horton isn't so convinced. quickly he's uncovering an internet of intrigue that ripples down the years, and which anyone is set should not be revealed...

Show description

The Devil's Breath (Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery)

By Tessa Harris

Eighteenth-century anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone travels to the English nation-state to solve a tangled net of puzzle, drugs, and murder--in this eye-catching new novel from Tessa Harris. . .

A guy staggers out of his cottage into the streets of Oxfordshire, shattering an in a different way peaceable night with the poor sight of his physique shaking and heaving, eyes wild with horror. some of the villagers think the satan himself has entered Joseph Makepeace, the most recent sufferer of a "great fog" that darkens the skies over England like a Biblical plague. whilst Joseph's son and daughter are came across murdered--heads bashed in by way of a shovel--the town's worst suspicions are proven: Evil is in another country, and wishes to be banished.

A fantastic guy of technological know-how, Dr. Thomas Silkstone isn't one to heed superstition. but if he arrives on the property of the beautiful widow woman Lydia Farrell, he reveals that it isn't simply her grain and cattle in danger. A shroud of poser surrounds Lydia's misplaced baby, who should still be alive in a workhouse. A traditional catastrophe fills the skies with smoke and ash, clogging the lungs of all who breathe it in. And the grisly info of a father's crime compels Dr. Silkstone to appear for solutions past his scientific books--between the satan and the deep blue sea. . .

Praise for The useless Shall now not Rest

"Outstanding. . .well-rounded characters, cleverly hid facts and an guaranteed prose sort element to an extended run for this old series." --Publishers Weekly (starred evaluation)

"Populated with actual historic characters and admirably researched, Harris's novel encompasses a advanced and engrossing plot. a slightly of romance makes this sophomore day out much more attractive. Savvy readers also will keep in mind Hilary Mantel's The enormous, O'Brien." --Library Journal

Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice

"Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The big apple instances publication Review

"An soaking up debut. . . Harris has quite a lot of methods up her sleeve or even veteran armchair puzzle solvers usually are surprised." --Publishers Weekly

"Smart misdirection and time-period acceptable scientific information make for a promising begin to a brand new sequence. a robust selection for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal

Show description

The Name of the Star (The Shades of London)

By Maureen Johnson

New York Times bestseller Maureen Johnson takes on Jack the Ripper during this eye-catching paranormal mystery!

The day that Louisiana youngster Rory Deveaux arrives in London to begin a brand new lifestyles at boarding tuition is usually the day a chain of brutal murders breaks out over the town, killings mimicking the bad Jack the Ripper spree of greater than a century in the past. quickly "Rippermania" takes carry of modern day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. other than one. Rory noticed the fellow police think to be the major suspect. yet she is the single one that observed him--the just one who can see him. And now Rory has turn into his subsequent aim. during this edge-of-your-seat mystery, jam-packed with suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will research the reality in regards to the mystery ghost police of London and observe her personal stunning talents.

Show description

Proof

By Dick Francis

Wine service provider Tony seashore has expertly catered his newest society soiree, however the fun's over while a workforce of hit males crash the party…literally. the development leaves Tony with a sour aftertaste of suspicion—and units off a secret that is an intoxicating mixture of deception, intrigue, and homicide.

Show description

The Fly on the Wall

By Tony Hillerman

Ace reporter John Cotton is a fly at the wall, seeing all, listening to all, and retaining out of sight. however the online game alterations whilst he unearths his most sensible friend’s corpse sprawled at the marble ground of the vital rotunda of the U.S. Capitol. all of sudden Cotton is aware an excessive amount of a few scandal headquartered round a senatorial candidate, a million-dollar rip-off, and a homicide. And he hears the pursuing footsteps of robust those that have whatever to conceal . . . and a willingness to kill to maintain their secrets and techniques hidden.

Show description